For groups & schools

As a group leader, you are welcome to come and prepare your visit on location. To help you as good as we can, we’re always willing to give you information during your preparatory visit. We recommend you to first read up on the history of Talbot House on this website. If you have questions or suggestions, don’t hesitate to contact us.

To encourage students to discover each theme for themselves, we developed a range of supportive materials. You can download these here.

The concert hall

Generally a group visit starts in the Concert Hall, where a video introduction about the past of Poperinge and Talbot House is shown. Guided tours and a tablet tour are also available. For an overview of the options please click here.

The museum

The permanent exposition gives you an idea of what daily life behind the front was like. Several themes like medical care, life in the soldiers’ camps and holding morality high are addressed by looking at first-hand testimonies (letters, diary fragments, memoirs, …).

The House

Having a look around in Talbot House itself is the central experience of your visit. Today, the House is decorated as authentic as possible. It almost feels as if Tubby could walk through the door at any time.

Temporary exhibitions

Throughout the year serveral temporary exhibitions are organized at Talbot House. For our current programme please have a look at our calendar.

TALBOT HOUSE EVERY MAN'S CLUB, POPERINGE, BELGIUM - COPYRIGHT 2016

Pour groupes & écoles

Evidemment comme accompagnateur ou responsable vous êtes le bienvenu et vous pouvez bien préparer votre visite sur place. Nous sommes toujours prêts à vous aider. Nous vous conseillons de lire auparavant les pages d'histoire sur notre site internet. Si vous avez des questions, n'hésitez pas de nous contacter.

Pour que les élèves se mettent à explorer , nous avons développé un grand nombre de documents d'accompagnement. Vous pouvez les télécharger ici pour les utiliser lors de votre visite ou pour les combiner dans une brochure pratique.

La salle de concert

En principe la visite commence dans la salle de concert où un video (en Anglais et Néerlandais) vous informe sur le situation spécifique de Poperinge et en particulier sur l'histoire de la Talbot House. Une visite guidée en Français est également disponible. 

Le musée

L'exposition permanente au rez-de-chaussée évoque la vie quotidienne à l'arrière du front. Cet espace est divisé par thème: l'aspect médical, la vie dans les campements, Poperinge 'Petit Paris'.

La Maison

Avoir un coup d'oeil dans la Talbot House lui-même est l'expérience centrale de votre visite. Aujourd'hui, la maison est décorée comme à l'époque. C'est comme si Tubby peut y arriver d'une minute à l'autre pour vous accueillir.

Expositions temporaires

Pendant l'année des expositions temporaires sont organisées à Talbot House. Pour notre programme actuel s'il vous plaît jeter un oeil à notre calendrier.

TALBOT HOUSE EVERY MAN'S CLUB, POPERINGE, BELGIUM - COPYRIGHT 2016